Griffin Spalding County School System Finance
skip to main content

Byron K. Jones joins GSCS from the Glynn County Board of Commissioners where he served as the CFO for five months. Prior to that role, Jones served as the CFO for the Troup County Board of Education for over seven years and assistant superintendent of finance and operations for the Meriwether County Board of Education for seven years. Jones was also the director of finance and administration for the City of Opelika Housing Authority for three years, and an accountant and assistant manager with Kroger.

Jones received his bachelor’s degree in business administration from LaGrange College and master’s degree in professional accounting from State University of West Georgia. 

NOTICE OF PROPERTY TAX INCREASE
Top of Page

The Griffin-Spalding County School System has tentatively adopted a millage rate that will require an increase in property taxes by 11.70 percent.
 
All concerned citizens are invited to the public hearing on this tax increase to be held at the Griffin- Spalding County School System Boardroom, 216 South 6th Street, Griffin, GA on August 16, 2022, at 10:00 AM and 6:00 PM.
 
Times and places of additional public hearings on this tax increase are at the Griffin-Spalding County School System Boardroom, 216 South 6th Street, Griffin, GA on August 24, 2022, at 5:00 PM.
 
This tentative increase will result in a millage rate of 16.742 mills, an increase of 1.754 mills. Without this tentative tax increase, the millage rate will be no more than 14.988 mills. The proposed tax increase for a home with a fair market value of $100,000.00 is approximately $70.16 and the proposed tax increase for non-homestead property with a fair market value of $125,000.00 is approximately $87.70.

Staff
Top of Page

Byron K. Jones
Chief Financial Officer
byron.jones@gscs.org
ext. 10309

Suzanne Foster
Executive Secretary
suzanne.foster@gscs.org
ext. 10404
 
Bridgett Holder
Assistant Director of Accounting
bridgett.holder@gscs.org
ext. 10310
 
Rhenee' Barber
Accounts Payable
rhenee.barber@gscs.org
ext. 10311
 
Ciera Walker
Cash Management/LSA
ciera.walker@gscs.org
ext. 10304
 
Tandy Dorris
Payroll Specialist
tandy.dorris@gscs.org
ext. 10316
 
Salena Jo (SJ) Burks
Payroll Benefits Specialist
jo.burks@gscs.org
ext. 10314